Route B - Legion to Selkirk and return

An introduction to faster group riding with FOG

Distance: 59.6 km

Sprint Locations: One


Begin with the Slow Ride up Main and then River heading north on the west side of the Red River to Lockport. The pace is held to approximately 30 kph until Lockport (somewhat faster if there is a strong tailwind). A brief pause at the old Skinner's to divide into ability groups (see the Groups page), then continue north into Selkirk to the Selkirk Bridge (River Rd).


Most times there is not a formal Selkirk loop ride. Early in the season a number of riders will turn back at this point, crossing the Selkirk bridge to the east side of the Red and following Hwy 204 back to the Legion, but after the early season most will elect for a longer ride and proceed on to the 'Big Bridge.'


Re-grouping points: the NE corner parking lot at Eveline St and River Rd in Selkirk and at the junction of Hwy 204 and Hwy 44 just outside of Lockport on the way home.


Sprint points:

  1. On the way north - on Eveline Street at the southern town limits sign. In the fast group there is often a few kilometre lead out and speeds may approach 50 kph for prolonged periods.



*  Routes may vary slightly depending on conditions.

** Roads are not closed to traffic. Riders must always put safety first. Do not cross the centre line of the road. Cars may back out onto the road or slow suddenly to turn.

Latest News

October 16, 2017


Volunteers Required for CrossTastic

It's our ninth year running and we require a number of volunteers for Sunday October 22th. If you can help...  read more >

August 1, 2017


Muddy Waters Century Ride Replacement

Muddy Waters has been cancelled this year due to the visit of President Jimmy Carter. As Muddy Waters originated with FOG members you just know we've had to plan out own...   read more >

April  18, 2017


New Web Site

The new web site is coming live in bits and pieces. Don't be surprised to find some dead links, empty pages, and even duplicate pages.


© FOG Cycling Club 2014-2017